Sign In

Sustainable Development Goals

 SDG 9: Industry, Innovation & Infrastructure

sdg9.jpg

Over many decades, the progress of science, technology and innovation has been limited to the most developed countries, whilst investment in research and development (R&D) still falls short of aspirations in developing countries even with capable and talented people. R&D remains confined in labs, away from any interaction with (the) market and community needs. However, it is impossible that things remain this way, considering that (the) collective actions and steps taken at local level are the core tools towards global change.

 The SDGs do not only highlight innovation as (a) development goal, but also stress its great importance as a core instrument of achieving other goals. Whether we worked to overcome challenges facing education, energy, health, climate change or poverty, sciences, technology and innovations must be addressed in a in a participatory and inclusive manner for the public good.

Building sustainable economic clusters and small community businesses centered on new technology is only possible through stimulating innovation element across all segments of civil community, including women, youth and genuine societies.

Linking local technology needs to global opportunities is a common challenge to several countries. To overcome this challenge, we must all be more conscious of market dynamics and the importance of inclusiveness of all society with all its segments and components. Ability to define and identify local needs and capacities related to technology is the essence of forming a clear perception of the added value of applications, which in turn will help to maximize productivity and strengthen economic competitiveness.

Perhaps, here, strengthening and stimulating innovation at local level would be the best solution for progress in achieving SDGs if all the necessary elements are in place. Nevertheless, developing countries need help and support to develop and design local models appropriate to innovation within the framework of sustainable development. Perhaps the lessons learned in this field indicate that the public sector might not be the main motive of innovation. Companies play an essential role in accelerating innovation‘s pace, either from investors or consumers. However, the real innovation stimulators have not been yet enabled and activated in the required way. (in order for that to be done, responsibility must be taken to identify the local needs and strengthen ties between the key players by universities, research institutions, study centers, and non-government organizations.

To take on such role, these organizations must be enabled to understand the local development challenges and turn them into innovation opportunities by bringing together the knowledge and social influence resulting from collaboration and alliance of scientists and social civil organizations, we can access to an enabling environment at legislation and policy level that stimulates local and regional innovation and recognizes inventors.

The UAE with no doubt is a regional leader in the creation of infrastructure and the development of industry and innovation, having maintained its leading position at global level in several indicators, including the competitive capacity, development, entrepreneurship, innovation, ease of doing business, commerce, investment and tourism.


Notifications

تسجيل الدخول

بوابة أهداف التنمية المستدامة

 الهدف التاسع: الصناعة والابتكار والهياكل الأساسية

sdg-ar-09.png

على مر عقود طويلة، اقتصر تقدم وتطور العلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار على البلدان الأكثر تقدماً، حيث لا يزال الاستثمار في مجال البحث والتطوير دون الطموح في البلدان النامية. حتى مع وجود أشخاص ذوي قدرات ومواهب بارزة، كما لا يزال البحث والتطوير محصورين في نطاق المختبرات فقط، بعيدا عن التفاعل مع حاجات السوق والمجتمع. ولكن ليس من الممكن بأن يستمرالحال كذلك كون الإجراءات والخطوات الجماعيه المتخذة على الصعيد المحلي هي الأدوات الأساسية نحو التغيير العالمي.

ولا تعمل الأهداف العالمية للتنمية المستدامة على تسليط الضوء على الابتكار كأحد الأهداف التنموية فحسب، بل تؤكد أيضا على الأهمية الكبيرة للابتكار من أجل تحقيق الأهداف الأخرى. سواء عملنا على التصدي لتحديات التعليم، أو الطاقة، أو الصحة، أو التغيير المناخي، أو الفقر؛ إذ لابد من تناول العلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار بأسلوب تشاركي شمولي لضمان المنفعة العامة.

إن بناء عناقيد اقتصادية مستدامة وشركات أعمال صغيرة مجتمعية تتمحور حول التكنولوجيا الجديدة ليس ممكناً إلا من خلال تحفيز عنصر الابتكار ضمن جميع شرائح المجتمع المحلي؛ بما في ذلك النساء والشباب والمجتمعات الأصيلة.

 ويعتبر ربط الاحتياجات التكنولوجية المحلية بالفرص العالمية تحديا مشتركا في العديد من البلدان، وللتغلب على هذا التحدي يتوجب علينا جميعاً أن نكون أكثر وعياً لديناميكية السوق وأهمية شمول المجتمع بجميع عناصره وشرائحه. وتعد القدرة على تحديد ومعرفة الاحتياجات والقدرات المحلية المتعلقة بالتكنولوجيا هي الجوهر لتكوين تصور واضح عن القيمة المضافة للتطبيقات التي بدورها ستعمل على تعظيم الإنتاجية وتعزيز التنافسية الاقتصادية.

وهنا قد يكون تعزيز وتحفيز الابتكار على المستوى المحلي هو الوصفة السحرية التي تؤدي إلى التقدم في مجال تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة إذا ما توفرت جميع المكونات اللازمة لذلك. إلا أن البلدان النامية تحتاج إلى المساعدة والدعم لتطوير وتصميم نماذج محلية ملائمة للابتكار ضمن إطار التنمية المستدامة. ولعل الدروس المستفادة في هذا المجال تشير إلى أن القطاع العام قد لا يكون هو المحرك الرئيسي للابتكار. حيث تلعب الشركات دورا هاما في تسريع وتيرة الابتكار سواء كانت من فئة المستثمرين أو المستهلكين. إلا أن المحفزات الحقيقية للابتكار المستدام لم يتم تمكينها وتفعيلها بالشكل المطلوب بعد. إذ يقع على عاتق الجامعات والمؤسسات البحثية ومراكز الدراسات والفكر والمنظمات غير الحكومية مسؤولية أخذ زمام المبادرة في عملية تحديد الاحتياجات المحلية وتعزيز الروابط بين اللاعبين الرئيسيين. وللقيام بهذا الدور لا بد من تمكين تلك المؤسسات من فهم تحديات التنمية المحلية وتحويلها إلى فرص للابتكار. من خلال الجمع بين المعرفة والتأثير المجتمعي الناتجين عن التعاون والتحالف بين العلماء ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني، نستطيع الوصول إلى بيئة ممكنة على مستوى السياسات والتشريعات تحفز الابتكار المحلي والإقليمي وتحتفي بالمبتكرين.

ولا شك أن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تعتبر دولة رائدة إقليمياً في إنشاء البنى التحتية وتطوير الصناعة والابتكار حيث حافظت على صدارتها على المستوى العالمي في العديد من المؤشرات بما في ذلك القدرة التنافسية والتنمية وريادة الأعمال والابتكار وسهولة ممارسة الأعمال والتجارة والاستثمار والسياحة.