Sign In


​The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an international organization designed by its founders to supervise and liberalize international trade. The organization which the headquarters is at Geneva- Switzerland, officially commenced on January 1995 under the Marrakesh Agreement, replacing the General Agreements on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), which commenced in 1947.

The WTO deals with the organization of the trade amongst member states; it provides a framework for negotiating and formalizing​ trade agreements, and a dispute resolution process aimed at enforcing participants adherence to WTO agreements which are signed by representatives of member governments and ratified by their parliaments.

WTO has 164 members representing more than 97% of total world trade, The WTO is run by its member governments. All major decisions are made by the membership as a whole, either by ministers (who meet at least once every two years) or by their ambassadors or delegates (who meet regularly in Geneva). Decisions are normally taken by consensus. In this respect, the WTO is different from some other international organizations such as the World Bank and International Monetary Fund. In the WTO, power is not delegated to a board of directors or the organization’s head.