Sign In

800-1222

 Ecotourism and Sustainability

​Ecotourism

As one of the world's favorite destinations, the UAE features some of the most stunning landscapes and beautiful natural attractions in the region. We are dedicated to developing low-impact, eco-friendly tourism across the country, so visitors can take in the natural majesty that stretches across the country while leaving the landscape pristine and untouched.

Eco-tours can be arranged through dedicated environmental groups, such as the Emirates Natural History Group (hyperlink), the Emirates Environmental Group (hyperlink) and the Emirates Bird Records Committee (hyperlink) along with private tour operators and hotels.

Perhaps the best-known "green" destinations in the UAE lies within the emirate of Abu Dhabi - Al Ain.

One of the world's oldest permanently inhabited settlements, Al Ain was once a vital caravan oasis on the trade routes stretching from the Levant to the Indian Ocean. Explore the rich history of this desert oasis and visit Al Ain Fort, the Al Ain National Museum and the 4,000-year old tombs at Hili Fort.

Today, other attractions in Al Ain include the Al Ain oasis, Al Ain Wildlife Park & Resort, Wadi Adventure - a white water rafting, kayaking and surfing area. For family fun, visit the newly renovated Hili Fun-City.

The UAE features some of the region most exquisite scuba diving in the region. Diving enthusiasts will love Martini Rock, one of the most popular dive spots in the country. Prolific marine life and breathtaking underwater seascapes make scuba diving on the most unforgettable adventures in the UAE.

We are also keenly aware that ecotourism helps drive conservation efforts, protecting wildlife for generations to come. That is why visitors will love the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve. The reserve covers nearly five per cent of Dubai's land and is home to over 6,000 indigenous trees, grasses and flora, as well as herds of oryx and other wildlife.

Al Maha Desert Resort & Spa, just down the road, pairs high-end luxury accommodations with ancient Bedouin camps and serves as the centerpiece for visitors to explore the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve. In recognition of its key role in helping preserve the region's wildlife, National Geographic awarded Al Maha its World Legacy Award for its efforts.

In Sharjah, government entities are working to develop the emirate's ecotourism sector, consulting with local and international ecotourism agencies to better protect chosen sites and preserve the emirate's natural beauty. Studies are currently underway to ensure accurate selection of areas for such projects, with particular focus on the necessity to maintain the sensitive balance needed to protect the environment, while also developing an exclusive environment friendly tourism product.

Lately, 18 gazelles of the endangered species known as "Damani" in the Al Hafiya natural reserve in Kalba. The gazelles release marked the inauguration of the first phase of the "Kalba Eco-tourism Project" undertaken by the Sharjah Investment and Development Authority (Shurooq) in collaboration with the Environment and Protected Areas Authority (EPAA) in Sharjah and the International Conservation Services. Moreover, a number of predatory birds were released in Al Ghail Fort, affiliated to the Kalba Eco-tourism Project, during which 21 falcon species were released. The falcon species included Al-Hur, Shaheen, Al Wakri, Hawk falcon, and Eagle owl, one of the largest of its kind in the world inhabiting deserts and wooded areas.

While new visitors may find it surprising, bird watching is another popular ecotourism activity in the UAE, especially around the country's many wetlands areas that are home to over 400 species of birds. Key areas for bird life include Ras Al Khor in Dubai, which is home to Western Reef Heron, flamingos and spotted eagles, and the Jebel Ali area with its native hoopoe lark and grey francolin.

Other protected bird life areas include Mushrif Park, Al Habab and Hatta.

Wadi Wurayah in Fujairah was established as the first protected mountain area of the country, in order to protect fresh water springs, pools and streams that provide its unique wildlife with a renewable and safe drinking resource. Now they are taking things forward. The current developments in Wadi Wurayah are set to ensure active protection of the natural and cultural resources of the area and deliver a unique model of how environment conservation can be economically viable.

The UAE includes more than 5036.24 km sq of protected area which represents 6.044 % of the its total area. These protected areas are distributed in Abu Dhabi (Marawah Marine, Al Yasat), Dubai (Ras EL Khor, Jabal Ali, and Dubai Desert), Sharjah (Khour Kalbaa, Al Gheil, Wadi Al Helw, Al Berd among others), Ajman (Al Zawraa) and Fujairah (Bird Island, Al badia, Dedna and many others)

The United Arab Emirates is the home of a unique array of protected areas which cover more than 5036.24 square kilometers, equivalent to 6.024% of the total area of the country. These reserves are distributed between all the emirates including:

  • Ab​u Dhabi (protected Mrawa water, and Yasat)
  • Dubai (Ras Al Khor, and Jebel Ali, Dubai desert)
  • Sharjah (Alkalba Creek, Ghail, Wadi Al Helou, Bardi, and Ramtha, among others)
  • Ajman (Ajman Creek Boat)
  • Fujairah (Badia, and bird Island).

One of the most famous protected areas is ‘Al Batinah' Island. Located 130 km west of Abu Dhabi, the island is positioned as one of the unique natural islands and a primary location in Marawah Marine Reserve. ‘Al Batinah' Island is considered as the first marine biosphere reserve in the region.

Biodiversity

‘Al Batinah' Island represents the UAE's commitment to environmental sustainability and biodiversity. The island is the home of many life forms such as coral reefs, sea cows, natural mangrove and hawksbill turtles, dolphins, Osprey, and Socotra cormorant.

Sustainability

Sustainability is at the core of the UAE - from reducing our operational footprint, to developing renewable materials and safer products, to collaborating with others to create sustainable solutions. UAE is playing a vital role in the region with its adoption of 'green' standards across its various infrastructural projects.

The UAE and the region is reaching a new milestone in development and furthering its position among leading nations in the field of Sustainability; all in accordance with UAE's Vision 2021. Sustainability is a key priority for the government of the UAE, as clearly expressed in the words of HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the President of the United Arab Emirates, who said that the UAE is diversifying its energy sources and enhancing its experience in international energy markets as a global hub of Renewable Energy Research and Development."

The UAE's sustainable development strategy was initiated by HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President, Prime Minster and Ruler of Dubai, under the theme, and themed as ‘Green Economy for Sustainable Development". Through this initiative, the UAE aims to become one of the world leaders as well as a centre for the export and re-export of green products and technologies. The initiative consists of six fields, including; Green Energy, Investment incentives, Green City, Climate Change Effects, and Green Lifestyle, which form a vehicle that enables the country to realize its objective."

The UAE has developed a unique scientific tool that assesses how changes in the electricity and water sector might affect Abu Dhabi's carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions up to the year 2030. The tool has been developed by the partners in the Al Basma Al Beeiyah (Ecological Footprint) initiative to support sustainable policy-making by providing decision-makers with analysis on how different policies can help lower the UAE's Ecological Footprint.

"Abu Dhabi Sustainability week" brings together the World Future Energy Summit, the International Water Summit, the International Renewable Energy Conference, IRENA's General Assembly and the Zayed Future Energy Prize Award Ceremony. Such gatherings along many others can help foster the deeper international cooperation essential for tackling the world's major challenges.

The UAE's commitment to sustainable development shapes both our domestic policy and our international cooperation. Both are rooted deeply in the values of our country, shaped above all by our founding father the late Shaikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nayhan. These values include a respect for nature, an emphasis on education, a stress on rights and opportunities for women, and an open and tolerant society.

​​

تسجيل الدخول

800-1222

 السياحة البيئية والاستدامة

 باعتبارها واحدة من الوجهات المفضلة في العالم، تنفرد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالعديد المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة في المنطقة. ونلتزم في الإمارات بتطوير السياحة الصديقة للبيئة في جميع أنحاء الدولة، حيث يتمكن الزوار بالإستمتاع بالطبيعية الرائعة وفي نفس الوقت الحفاظ على طبيعتنا كما هي.

ويمكن ترتيب الجولات البيئة من خلال مجموعات متخصصة في البيئة، مثل مجموعة الإمارات للتاريخ الطبيعي ، ومجموعة الإمارات للبيئة  ولجنة الإمارات لتسجيل الطيور  جنبا إلى جنب مع منظمي الرحلات السياحية الخاصة والفنادق.

تعتبر مدينة العين التابعة لإمارة أبوظبي إحدى أفضل الوجهات "الخضراء" في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

كما تعد مدينة العين إحدى أقدم المناطق المأهولة في العالم بشكل دائم، حيث كانت في قديم الزمان واحة حيوية على طرق التجارة الممتدة من بلاد الشام إلى المحيط الهندي. استكشف التاريخ الغني لهذه الواحة الصحراوية عبر زيارة قلعة العين، ومتحف العين الوطني والقبور في قلعة الهيلي والتي يقدر عمرها بـ 4000 سنة.

وتشمل قائمة الأماكن السياحية في مدينة العين كل من واحة العين، منتجع وحديقة العين للحياة البرية، وحديقة المغامرات المائية "وادي أدفنشر". ولمتعة أفراد الأسرة، قم بزيارة مدينة ألعاب الهيلي- والتي تم تحديثها مؤخراً.

وتتميز دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بأجمل مغامرات الغوص المثيرة في المنطقة... وسيعشق هواة الغوص مارتيني روك، وهي واحدة من بقع الغوص الأكثر شعبية في الدولة. وتساهم الحياة البحرية الفريدة والمناظر البحرية الخلابة التي تقطن تحت الماء في جعل رياضة الغوص إحدى المغامرات التي لا تنسى في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وندرك تماما أن السياحة البيئية تساعد في جهود المحافظة على الإستدامة، وحماية الحياة البرية للأجيال القادمة. وهذا هو السبب الذي سيجعل الزوار يعشقون محمية دبي الصحراوية. وتغطي المحمية ما يقرب من 5% من مساحة امارة دبي وتعد موطنا لأكثر من 6000 شجرة أصيلة، والأعشاب والنباتات، فضلا عن قطعان من المها وغيرها من الحيوانات البرية.

ويعد منتجع وسبا المها الصحراوي، الواقع على طريق دبي العين من أفضل الأماكن التي تعكس واقع الحياة البرية الأصيلة للدولة، حيث تنتشر أماكن الإقامة الفاخرة الراقية مع مخيمات البدو القديمة على التلال الرملية لتكون بمثابة حجر الزاوية للزوار لاستكشاف محمية دبي الصحراوية. وتقديراً لدوره الرئيسي في الحفاظ على الحياة البرية في المنطقة، منحت ناشيونال جيوغرافيك منتجع المها جائزة التراث العالمي (اسم الجائزة صحيح ومذكور في عدة صحف منها البيان والرياض) لما يبذله من جهود في هذا المجال.

أما في الشارقة، فتعمل الحكومة على تطوير قطاع السياحة البيئية من خلال التعاون مع الجهات والمؤسسات المحلية والدولية المعنية، وذلك لضمان حسن اختيار المواقع المثالية لهكذا مشاريع، والحفاظ على الإرث البيئي للإمارة. ويجري العمل حالياً على تحديد هذه المواقع من أجل الحفاظ على التوازن البيئي وتطوير مشاريع تعنى بالسياحة البيئية.

وقد تم إطلاق 18 غزالاً ينتمي الى فصيلة الأدمي المهددة بالإنقراض مؤخرا، وذلك في محمية "الحفية" في مدينة كلباء. وتعد هذه الخطوة بمثابة إفتتاح المرحلة الأولى لمشروع السياحة البيئية في كلباء والذي تقوم بتطويره هيئة الإستثمار والتطوير في الشارقة "شروق" بالتعاون مع هيئة حماية المواقع البيئية في الإمارة ومركز خدمات الحفظ الدولي. كما تم إطلاق عدد من الطيور الجارحة والتي تضمّنت 21 نوعاً من الصقور وذلك في قلعة الغيل والتي تعتبر جزء من مشروع الكلباء البيئي. وتضمّنت القائمة طيور الحر، وشاهين، وطيور الوقري، والنسر والعقاب. 

 في حين قد يجدها الزوار الجدد غريبة، فإن مشاهدة الطيور هي من الأنشطة السياحة البيئية المشهورة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وبخاصة حول المناطق التي تتجمع فيها المياه على مدار العام، والتي تعد موطنا لأكثر من 400 نوعا من الطيور. وتشمل الأماكن الرئيسية لحياة الطيور كل من منطقة رأس الخور في دبي، والتي تعد موطناً لطائر بلشون الصخر، فلامنغو، والنسور المرقطة، ومنطقة جبل علي التي تشتهر بطائر الهدهد وطائر الدراج الرمادي.

وتشمل محميات الطيور الأخرى كل من حديقة مشرف، الهباب، وحتا.

ويعتبر وادي الوريعة في الفجيرة المحمية الجبلية الأولى من نوعها في الدولة، ويهدف إلى حماية ينابيع المياه العذبة والجداول التي تعتبر مورداً اساسياً للمياه العذبة المتجددة. وتعمل الجهات المسؤولة حالياً على تطوير المشروع لضمان حماية هذه الموارد الطبيعية. ويعتبر هذا المشروع مثالاً حياً على تأثير هذه المشارع المستدامة على إقتصاد البلاد.

وتضم الإمارات العربية المتحدة مجموعة متميزة من المحميات تصل مساحتها إلى أكثر من 5036.24 كلم مربع أي ما يعادل 6.024% من إجمالي مساحة الدولة. وتتوزع هذه المحميات في أبوظبي (محمية مروح المائية، والياسات) ودبي (محمية راس الخور، وجبل علي، وصحراء دبي) والشارقة (خور كلباء، والغيل، ووادي الحلو، والبردي، والرمثاء، وغيرها) وعجمان (الزوراء في خور عجمان) و الفجيرة (البادية، وجزيرة الطيور).

وتعتبر جزيرة بوطينة من أهم المحميات في الدولة وتقع على بعد 130 كلم غرب أبوظبي وهي من الجزر الطبيعية الفريدة ومن المناطق الأساسية في محمية مروح البحرية وهي أول محمية محيط حيوي بحري في المنطقة.

التنوع​ البيولوجي

وتعتبر جزيرة بوطينة من أهم الشواهد على التزام الدولة بالإستدامة البيئية والتنوع البيولوجي حيث تتواجد فيها العديد من الكائنات الحية مثل الشعاب المرجانية، وأبقار البحر، وأشجار القرم الطبيعية وسلاحف منقار الصقر، والدلافين، والعقاب النسارية، والغاق السوقطري

الإستدامة

تعنى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بمبدأ الإستدامة بشكل خاص حيث تعمل على الحد من انبعاثات غاز الكربون بالإضافة إلى تطوير المشاريع وإنتاج المنتجات الصديقة للبيئة. كما تحث الدولة على تعاون  مختلف الجهات لتطوير حلول مستدامة. وتلعب الدولة اليوم دوراً إقليمياً بارزاً عبر مشاريع البنية التحتية المستدامة التي تنجزها.

وتتميّز الدولة بنهضة عمرانية مميّزة وهي تسعى لدعم موقعها ضمن الدول الرائدة في دعم مبادئ الإستدامة، وذلك وفق رؤية الإمارات العربية المتحدة 2021. وتضع الحكومة الإماراتية موضوع الإستدامة ضمن أولوياتها وذلك ما شدّد عليه صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة حين قال ان الدولة تسعى جاهدةً إلى تنويع مصادر الطاقة لديها وترسيخ موقعها في أسواق الطاقة العالمية كمركز عالمي  لأبحاث الطاقة المتجددة.

وقد أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، رئيس مجلس الوزراء وحاكم دبي، استراتيجية التنمية المستدامة تحت شعار "اقتصاد مستدام لتنمية مستدامة". ومن خلال هذه المبادرة تسعى دول الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتصبح من بين الدول الرائدة في العالم ومركزا  لتصدير وإعادة تصدير التكنولوجيا والمنتجات المستدامة. وتتألف المبادرة من ستة فقرات وهي الطاقة المتجددة، وحوافز الإستثمار، ونمط الحياة المستدام، والمدينة المستدامة، وتأثيرات تغيّر المناخ. وتشكل هذه البنود المنصة المثالة للدولة لتحقيق أهدافها.

وقامت الدولة بتطوير برنامج علمي يقوم على تقييم التغيرات في استعمال الكهرباء والمياه ومدى تأثير ذلك على انبعاثات ثاني أوكسيد الكربون في العاصمة ابوظبي ولغاية عام 2030. وقامت مؤسسة البصمة البيئية بتطوير هذا البرنامج وذلك لدعم مبادئ الإستدامة وتحليل تأثير ذلك على خفض انبعاثات الكربون.

ويجمع اسبوع الإستدامة في أبوظبي بين القمة العالمية للطاقة المستدامة ومؤتمر القمة الدولية للمياه، والمؤتمر الدولي للطاقة المتجددة، واجتماع IRENA وحفل توزيج جائزة زايد للطاقة المستدامة. وتساعد هذه الفعاليات على تعزيز التعاون الدولي وذلك لمواجهة التحديات المستقبلية. 

ويعتبر التزامنا بمبادىء الإستدامة الجوهر الذي نعتمد عليه داخلياً في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والتعاون الدولي الذي نقدمه في هذا المجال. هذا الإلتزام ينبع من مبادئنا وقيمنا التي نعتز بها والتي أرساها في قلوبنا المؤسس الراحل الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان. وتتمثّل هذه القيم باحترام الطبيعة ومواردها، والتركيز على التعليم، والحرص على حماية حقوق المرأة وإعطائها الفرص اللازمة، بالإضافة إلى العمل على مجتمع منفتح ومتسامح.

 

​​​